The power of good people

Hey everyone,

Don’t worry, this blog isn’t about the election, although I could write a few words about that. I will just keep my Canadian comments to myself! Unless you’re on my Facebook, then you just have to deal with it.

Anywho, the real point of this blog is just to reiterate how important I think it is to have a support system and good connections in life.

Some of you know that I interned for Global news this past summer. It was such an incredible experience, I can never say enough about it. It was amazing and I got to meet some of the most amazing people. I remember walking into the newsroom on my first day and being so starstruck. I’d seen all of these people on TV and the news for all my life and now here they were in front of me. What amazed me was that every single one of them came up to me and introduced themselves and said that if I ever needed any help to ask them anything. I also remember asking Gord Gillies on my first day how to make my chair go down. What an intelligent question.

img_5778

For four months, I was intwined in the lives of everyone at Global. I shadowed the graphic designer, I went out on assignments with reporters, I worked with the evening crew, I wrote web stories. I soaked up as much as I could and tried to learn as much as I could. I worked in the best place that I could have worked this summer and was surrounded by so many fantastic people that, whenever I walked in the door would always greet me with a smile and a “Hey Kelsey!” I never felt different or looked down upon because of having Moebius. I feel like they were all able to look past that and I can’t say enough good things about them.

img_5947

Leaving them and embarking upon my final year at university was difficult. I felt like I had finally found my niche. What I learned though, is that they’re all still willing to be there for me and they will always lend a listening ear or a helping hand.

I went back to the Global studio today to meet two of the greatest anchors in the business for coffee.I hate asking them to meet with me because I know how busy they are. They sat down with me for about half an hour and we discussed my future and what I should be doing in my final year at university. Some of their suggestions I hadn’t even thought of so they were super helpful. I think, however, the most valuable thing that they did for me is that they believed in me and they believe that I can make it in this business. Yes, because of the challenges that Moebius throws at me, I might have to do things differently than others but I don’t mind that. It sets me apart. I want to work online anyway, I want to do social media and write. I don’t have any intention of being in front of the camera. I guess you never know, but that’s not where I see myself right now.

They did talk about my speech and how it is difficult to understand me sometimes at first, but then you learn how I talk and it’s no longer an issue. To be honest, when people used to tell me things like that, I would instantly get offended or embarrassed. It was awkward to talk about. But today, I am glad that they said that. It made me aware that, okay, at first it might be difficult, but people get used to it with time. I think I have just come to accept Moebius more and I know what challenges come along with it so I can’t be unwilling to talk about them.

My meeting with them today was reassuring. It gave me faith that I do have the skills that I need and that I will be able to make it. I know that I need to find this acceptance when I look within myself, but hearing people say it makes me believe it more.

Today, I was reassured, I was validated and I felt like I have some amazing people on my side.

That is the power of good people.

img_5943

Leave a Reply

