Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day 2016!

Hey everyone!

So, today, January 24 is Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day! I have been campaigning for a few weeks now, trying to rally news stations and such to cover the day to raise awareness and it ended up to be a HUGE success!

It’s been an amazing week or so, in terms of raising Moebius awareness! My university newspaper picked up the story, which can be found here. It is very well written and I am so happy to have been able to raise awareness on campus! Educating people on differences is the best thing we can do to make the world a more tolerant place.

Then, one of the largest news outlets in Canada picked up the story on the local station, but from what I have heard, it was shown in other cities as well. It was a very, very well-done story and the reporter did an amazing job! The story, with video, can be seen here!

CBC news also covered the story, and not only was it shown on the CBC network but I am told that it was on CBC radio nationally as well! Very exciting! If it goes online somewhere, I will post it here.

So, all in all, it was a very successful awareness campaign and I am so happy that the story got out there in so many different ways, in many different mediums.

Why is Moebius awareness so important to me? I think that the best way to make society more tolerant and understanding is through education. If they know about Moebius and what it is, maybe they won’t be so compelled to stare or make rude/insensitive comments. I really think that we have the ability to change how the world sees disability and I am proud to be a part of the change, no matter how small my part may be. I will never stop being an advocate for those with disabilities. I want to enact change. This world can be a better place, but it is up to us. It’s a daunting task sometimes, but I know that change is going to come. People are always so receptive to my story and so willing to learn about Moebius. Even some of my friends have said that they had never heard of it, so they went home and Googled it after I told them about it, and their friends and family did the same. I love educating people on it and it’s so important. That is why my awareness campaign will never stop.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me so much! Your encouraging words are part of what keeps me going and I am so grateful for all of the amazing support. I have the best friends, family and mentors ever. Thank you!

So tell me, dear blog readers, how do YOU express yourself?

Onward and upward to MSAD 2017! Expect big things!

Let’s keep changing people’s perceptions on disabilities!

IMG_3785

Leave a Reply

