A new chapter begins soon

SAIT was the greatest two years imaginable.

SAIT was the greatest two years imaginable.

Hey everyone!

I realize that I haven’t written a blog post in so long! Hope everyone has had a great summer.

I cannot believe that it is almost that time of year; it’s almost time for back-to-school! Fall is just around the corner. Move-in day at university is next weekend. I can’t believe that the time has come to start this new chapter of my life.

I’m a bit sad that I won’t be moving back into SAIT. What an incredible two years I had there. I made some of the best friends that I’ve ever had, and had the most incredible, inspiring and supportive teachers ever. It was an amazing experience, but, alas, my time there is done and it’s onward and upward to bigger things!

While I have to admit that I’m a bit excited to start university, I also have many apprehensions. It’s hard to explain them, I just have these visions in my head of how things have the potential of going. I’m worried about moving into residence and having to meet new people, I’m worried about making new friends and what if I can’t, I worry about having new professors who know nothing about me or my situation, namely Moebius. I’m worried about being lost, both figuratively and literally. Can I really survive university? What about the workload? Will I be able to handle that? My teachers at SAIT have assured me that I most definitely can. Interacting with strangers in incredible difficult for me, because of having Moebius syndrome, so it’s a great thing that I’m going into communications..

I’m hoping that university will be just as amazing as SAIT was. I hope that I am able to make some incredible new friends, have mentors in my professors and just make the very best of university life. It will be different for sure, but that doesn’t necessarily mean bad.

“Without struggle, there is no progress.” That is so very true, and something that I remind myself of daily, something that we should all remind ourselves of. You’ll never grow if you stay inside of your comfort zone.

So while I’m missing everyone at SAIT and the familiarity, I am trying to embrace this new adventure as best I can. I’m sure it will be at least a little difficult at first, just as SAIT was. There are so many new exciting opportunities awaiting me at university that SAIT didn’t have. There are so many ways to get involved both academically and physically. There are many sports clubs, recreation opportunities, student clubs, etc. I am excited to explore that aspect of university life.

I’m scared, yes I am. But I will not back down. I will take everything as it comes, just as I always have. Having Moebius has made me incredible resilient and for that I am grateful. I would not trade having Moebius, ever. It has made me the person that I am today, and I don’t know if I’d be able to respond to life’s difficulties if not for it. Having a disability gives you a thick skin, which can be very helpful in instances like this.

Anyway, for all of you out there that are feeling apprehension, anxiety or straight out fear about going back to school, starting at a new school, or whatever life has in store for you next, never give up. Never lose hope, and never lose yourself. Know who you are and most importantly, never, ever back down!

Remember, without struggle, there is no progress. Go forth and conquer your fears and chase your dreams.

Leave a Reply

