Best support system in the world.

Hello everyone,

There have been some very big moments in the past week for me. I graduated from college last week and then worked at a big event as part of my internship last weekend.

  
I know that I have blogged about this before, but it’s even more real now. Like I said, I graduated from SAIT with my diploma in journalism last week. That really made the fact that I’m done at SAIT real. I’m going to lose everyone and everything that meant so much to me for the past two years. Or so I thought.

After a meeting with the Associate Dean at SAIT, who is legitimately one of the nicest people that I have ever met, I quickly realized that the support system that I have here is not going anywhere. I was actually told to keep in contact with them and that they’d always be there to support me.

I also told him the story of where my life was before SAIT, and what led me to apply here. I said that I didn’t see myself ever getting into college and when asked where I saw myself going, my answer was simple: nowhere.

That is true. Before I came to SAIT, I honestly didn’t see my life leading me anywhere. I thought that because I had Moebius syndrome, I wouldn’t be able to accomplish anything, or ever find my place or who I am supposed to be in this life. SAIT changed all of that. Literally changed my life, and there are so many opportunities now that I would have never had if not for my experience here. There are not words to describe how insanely, exceptionally grateful and thankful I am for SAIT, the journalism program and everyone who now surrounds me.

I finally found myself and who I’m supposed to be. That would have not happened if I had not come here.

Now I’m off to university in the fall and while I am slightly terrified, I know that if I have the support system still in tact at SAIT, that’s all I really need. I will eventually find a support system at university, hopefully but I will never stray far from the support that I know I can always rely on here. This is where I started and this is where my life really, truly started. I can’t say enough good things about this school.

Thank you for helping me find who I am supposed to be in this world. I could not have done it without you.

To everyone with Moebius, or any other challenge in life, know that there are always people out there to help you find your way. There are always people who will support you and encourage you to be your best self. I SERIOUSLY encourage everyone to find those people because they will do nothing but enrich your life. Trust me, I know from experience. Sometimes all we need is someone to tell us that yes, we can succeed if we try hard enough and really want it.

Leave a Reply

