Finally found where I belong.

My amazing classmates showing their support for raising awareness of Moebius syndrome.

My amazing classmates showing their support for raising awareness of Moebius syndrome.

Hey everyone.

So, I know that I have said this many times before but after the past couple days, I really felt the need to reiterate.

I could not be more happy that I chose to come to SAIT. It has been nothing but an amazing experience for the last year and a half. And I cannot believe that I am now in my last semester here. It is both exciting and sad.

On Friday, January 16, 2015 (yesterday, at the time that this blog is being written) I had an interview with a news outlet who wanted to talk to me about the event that I am planning to hold here at SAIT to celebrate Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day.

If anyone has ever been interviewed on camera before, you know how nerve-wracking it can be, This is exacerbated by the fact that I have Moebius and thus, a speech inpediment.

I was talking to one of my teachers a couple days ago, an hour or so after I had gotten word that this news station wanted to come and interview me. I was super nervous about it, and I know that he knew it. He said that he thought it would be more nerve-wracking to do the awareness day event, as opposed to an interview that wasn’t even live. I told him that a bunch of my friends/classmates had offered to help me with the awareness day thing and that is why I’m not as nervous. I can’t do things on my own, apparently.

So anyway, after telling him that, he told me that he would come to the news interview thing to support me.

I mean, really. Where else would you find teachers that are that supportive, that they offer to be there for you for things that aren’t even related to classes? It’s amazing. Absolutely heartwarming, really. I love everyone here.

And not only did he come to support me, which he did, but like, 10 of my friends/classmates came as well. So the support was unbelieveable. To stand there, in front of the camera and look around and see all of my amazing friends taking pictures and just generally being there for support was such an amazing feeling and it helped me get through the interview with ease. Well, easier than it would have been if I had been standing there by myself.

Then last night, I went out partying with one of the same friends who came to support me during the interview. A group of us went to a bar/club type thing and we danced all night (which was a product of drinking all night as well..) and it was just the best time.

The point that I am trying to make here is that I seem to have found my niche at SAIT. I have the best teachers ever and the best friends ever and it is just so much better than I ever expected it would be.

So, in saying this, I want to send the message that whoever you are, you can find this happiness too. I never thought that I would because of having Moebius, but I have. I found what it is like to be truly happy at college and I couldn’t feel more at home here.

Follow your heart and your passion and you will find true happiness!

Leave a Reply

