Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day.

Tomorrow (January 24th, 2014) is Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day as I am pretty sure everyone is aware of now.

I’m sure that you all have see my barrage of posts about MSAD.

So, why is this day so important to me? It is important because it is such a rare condition that there is not much information out there about it. It is up to those of us with Moebius to teach everyone about it because if we don’t, who will?

I am a Moebius Syndrome ambassador and I do take this very seriously. I believe that we are all on this planet for a reason and I really do believe that my purpose in life is to educate people about Moebius. My life hasn’t been easy, but I feel that educating people is the key. If we educate people now, then the future generations with Moebius will have it a lot easier than I did and then a lot of you probably did.

I think that it is really important to include the Moebius kids in this day. It is so important for them to see that they can achieve whatever it is that they want in this life. I don’t want them to feel held back because of having Moebius, like I once did. I want them to know that although there may be challenges along the way, they can achieve their dreams and goals. They can and they will.

I am so grateful to the amazing people at my college.. my teachers and my friends. They are some amazing people and I have gotten nothing but support from them and for this I am grateful.

It took me a lot of years to feel adequate and like I had a place in this world. I don’t want anyone with Moebius to feel like they don’t belong anywhere because I know that they do belong. There is always a place. One of my journalism teachers last semester said to me “I don’t want you to think that you’re any different than anyone else because you’re not.” These words have stuck with me and they apply to each and every one of you. They do.

Never feel alone, because you’re not. We have this amazing network of Moebius family and we always will stick together. I know that I can count on them for anything and for this I am thankful.

 

Go out tomorrow, wear your purple loud and proud and like Tim said in his video, be proud of who you are.

To everyone who is supporting me by wearing purple, I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I really appreciate everything and it means the world to me. I will be holding an event at my college. It will be me at a booth handing out info brochures, bracelets, etc. My best friend has graciously offered to come help me. This means so much to me as it will take some of he pressure off and not be so awkward. Thanks, dude! ❤

 

We can make a change in this world and I know that we will.

 

Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day 2014 will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

