These things are addicting.

Guess what day it is, guys. It’s tattoo Friday. Tattoo Tuesday sounds better but it’s not Tuesday, so we’ll make it work.

Yeah, I am going in for my second tattoo today! I am excited, mostly because my tattoo artist is totally gorgeous. I hope he never sees this.. Whatever, it’s a compliment I’d say.

What am I getting this time, you ask? I am getting a maple leaf on my left forearm. I am so excited!! I have wanted this tattoo for a long time. I knew that I wanted the Hamlet quote first but I am glad that I chose this as my second tattoo. I was going to get a quote (from a Nickelback song, don’t judge) on my chest just under my collar bone. The quote is “Let nothing stand in your way because the hands of time are never on your side”. I was fully prepared to get this until my mom like, begged me not to. She’s like “please at least think about it til the new year”. She doesn’t like the idea. I love the quote.. It means something to me. It means don’t let things hold you back because time is not on your side. You never know how much time you have left and you don’t want to waste what you do have being held back. I think I will actually end up getting the quote done but not today.

The maple leaf is probably kind of a cliche, especially living in Canada but I am so proud to be Canadian and everything that Canada stands for. The maple leaf represents where I come from and I am very excited to get it and proudly show it off. It’s not going to be super big, probably only a few inches. I will see what my tattoo artist thinks in terms of size and placement but I have a vision in my head of what I want it to look like and where.

I also have a consultation before my actual tattoo with a different artist.  I am planning on getting a tattoo in honour of my Grandpa. I am getting a poppy (he was a veteran of WWII) and his name. In 2000, he sent me the very first Harry Potter book before it was a big phenomenon. He signed the book and that is where I am taking his name from so it looks handwritten in the tattoo. I am very excited to see what designs the tattoo artist guy comes up with. The one that I normally see (the gorgeous one) said that since it was realism that I wanted in the poppy, it was a bit out of his comfort zone as he mainly does cartoony stuff so he referred me to another guy who works in the same shop. I have a feeling that he is going to be awesome, I looked at his tattoo profiles and he does amazing work. Can’t believe that it has been almost 4 months since my grandpa passed away. I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t think of him. I miss him, and I will miss him forever. My grandparents are a huge part of my life. I am wearing my poppy in honour of him today, and all other veterans.

I hope that everyone has their poppy on in remembrance of the men and women who fought for your freedom!

Remembrance Day is Monday. Please take a moment at 11 AM to pause and reflect on the men and women who fought so you could be free to do whatever you’re doing. I really don’t want to sound preachy here but I take Remembrance Day very seriously!

I will try and post a picture of my tattoo after I get it done later today. I know I already said this like 4 times but I am sooo excited!!

Leave a Reply

