Disclosure and Moebius.

Hello blog readers!

I know that I haven’t blogged for a few weeks, but I started college! It’s been a hectic transition so I have been really busy adjusting to this new life. It is going pretty good so far. I just am needing to work on making some new friends. I feel pretty alone right now. I feel like most people in my classes have already made friends with each other. I’m not that great at making friends, I’m just too shy to talk to people. I swore that that was a habit that I was going to break when I got to college but so far it’s not working out for me. Did anyone else feel the same when they started university or college? Or just a new school or even a new job? I hope that I will make at least a few friends in the next few weeks. It would be really great to have people to hang out with after classes, at night and on weekends. I really could use more friends just in general. Other than that though, college is starting out pretty okay. I like my classes so far and my professors all seem really nice.

Onto the point of this blog, which is disclosure. What is disclosure when it comes to disabilities? Disclosure is informing people of your disability. Sometimes, disabilities are unseen such as mental illness, chronic pain, etc etc. In my case obviously Moebius can be seen and heard. If you were starting a new job, disclosure would be telling your employer that you have this disability. It’s not mandatory and you’re not obligated to so long as you can still do the job but some people choose to inform their employer. When I had my job interview, I had a brochure on Moebius and I gave it to the interviewer to read. She said that having Moebius didn’t matter as long as I could still perform the job functions. So now in college, I thought it might be a good idea to let my professors know about Moebius so they weren’t left wondering. I emailed them all and explained it. i got emails back from almost all of them and they all thanked me for letting them know and wanting to work out strategies for me to succeed despite it. I was actually very happy at the responses. They are all being very supportive and understanding. Like I said in the email, I am not looking for special treatment in any form but I thought they should know solely for their own information. Also I’m on a mission to raise awareness of Moebius but obviously I have talked about that in my blog before.

So in the end, I am happy that I did disclose to them. They’re very supportive and they want to help me succeed. I aim to prove to them that although I look and sound different, I can be just as successful as everyone else in my classes and maybe moreso. I don’t mean to sound egotistical with that statement but all I want to do is prove that we with Moebius and others with disabilities are just as, if not more, able. I have a passion for writing and I just have to let that shine through.

So I will ask this to everyone reading this: What are some pros and cons of disclosure? Have you ever disclosed a disability to an employer or teacher? What was your experience like?

Believe-In-Yourself

2 thoughts on “Disclosure and Moebius.

  1. The only time I ever disclosed anything was in my very last year of university. At that time, my Myasthenia Gravis was acting up AND I was going to be taking time off to fly to Toronto to have “smile” surgery. I hadn’t told anyone or talked about Möbius Syndrome. At that time, I just waited for people to ask me and I would happily answer any questions they had. But when it came time to go for the surgery, I had a meeting with all my profs at the same time and gave them the full run-down of what was happening, what Möbius was, and why I was having the surgery. It was a fabulous discussion.

    The Myasthenia was a bit different. At the beginning of the year, I was relatively fine. By the end of the year, I was using a cane full-time, very weak, and VERY tired. There was an obvious change from September to June. I had my smile surgery in February and it triggered a set-back in my MG treatment. There wasn’t any way around telling my profs as the second semester was all about practicum work and travel to different locations around the Maritimes learning about co-operatives and non-profit social organisations.

    If it hadn’t been necessary to use a cane or have surgery that year, I probably wouldn’t have said anything because I would have easily kept up with everyone. Instead, I took a little longer to do tours of facilities and usually needed to sit for short presentations while everyone else stood and I needed a bit of extra time to finish a couple of assignments because of the surgery, but it worked out. I did absolutely everything everyone else in class did with minor accommodations and graduated with a very decent GPA.

    Each of us does what we have to do to get through. I’ve never told an employer anything. My work speaks for itself. But that’s just me. 🙂

  2. Hi Kelsey,
    I like your blog! I also have Moebius and tell my professors the issues I have. Most of them are very understanding. I also give them my book that explains some of the challenges I go through. It’s been difficult for me to socialize. I mean the students are nice but never had a group of friends. I think my presence and everyone with a difference is important. Because even though we may say little, just being there says a lot. And hopefully, things will change!

Leave a Reply

