“May angels lead you in”.

Hello everyone. I know it has been so long since my last blog post but there has been so, so much going on. I will try to make this as short as I can, as I don’t want to bore anyone. 

On June 20th, a massive flood hit most of southern Alberta. It was the biggest disaster that any of us here have ever seen. The water literally came up out of nowhere. I was at work that morning and when our power went out we didn’t think too much of it. We had been having rain for days so the rivers were really swelling. We thought that places in the flood plane would flood, as they do almost every year. Then one of my co-workers got a call from her husband saying to get out of there because the water was coming our way. We dashed out of the store and I ran to my car as I wanted to get home. It started to pour and the main road was closed due to flooding. I tried to go a back way through a residential area. I was going along fine when I came to a huge flood of water over the road. Trucks were getting through so I thought that I could to. Long story short, my car got stuck, water was coming in the doors and some guys in a truck rescued me. I had to leave my car behind and eventually got back to the store because there was no where else to go. We had to be evacuated out by combine and eventually I did get home. Things were in chaos for the next two weeks and the town was essentially under lockdown. We were finally able to get back in to find my car which was completely totalled. It’s at some junkyard now being stripped for parts. I was saddened by the loss but hundreds of people lost their homes and everything in them. It was a completely devastating event and three weeks later, everyone is still trying to pick up the pieces. 

Around the time of the flood, my grandpa was moved to a hospice. He has chronic leukemia and was in unbearable, unspeakable pain. When they got him to the hospice, they started him on very strong painkillers. I headed to B.C to my grandparents house on June 30th to spend time with my granny to to visit my Grandpa. When I got to the hospic the first time, it took me a good 10 minutes to be able to go into the room because frankly, I was afraid of what I was going to see. When I did go in, my grandpa was alert and my mom told him that I was there. I walked to the side of his bed and he raised his arms for a hug. As my mom told me a couple days ago, I was the only person he did that for. Even with how very ill he was, he wanted a hug from me. I visited him every day that I was there. He was very frail and ill looking and he was confused a lot of the time and saying things that didn’t make sense. He did make sense some of the time though and all in all I am glad that I was there to see him. He passed away on Monday of this week. In a way, we were all expecting it sooner or later but I wasn’t expecting it that soon. It honestly hasn’t really sunk in yet I don’t think. Even as I sit here writing this, I still cannot believe that he is really gone. The fact that he is no longer with us on this earth is hard to comprehend and I know it will eventually hit me like a brick wall. He was a part of my life for all of my 22 years and all the memories that I have are overwhelming. And to think that I have seen him for the last time is.. hard to imagine. I will miss him every day for the rest of my days but I can only hope that one day when my time on this earth is done, I will see him again. For now the memories will have to get me through. I know that you’re an angel now, Grandpa and when I look to the sky I know that you are up there watching and looking down on all of us. You’ll be in my heart always. 

I have been off work for almost a month now with the floods and then my grandpa’s passing so I go back tomorrow. It will be good to have some sense of normal and a routine again. And then August 24th, it all starts. Move in day for college. I can’t believe how fast it is approaching and my anxiety is slowly growing with each passing day. It’s going to be a totally new realm and I don’t know what to expect at all. Trying to not stress about it and will take each day as it comes. 

So, there’s an update for all of you on the last month or so of my life. It’s been hectic, it’s been a lot of loss. 

And just a reminder for everyone. Tell people in your life every day that you love them and how you feel because one day it will be too late. It will be too late to say these words and you’ll regret not letting them now how much they meant to you. My grandpa was a WWII veteran. I wish I had told him how proud I was. I wish I had told him how much he meant to me and how much I treasured him. But I didn’t. I didn’t and now it’s too late. I hope he knew, though. And when I pray, I know that he can hear me. I am not at all a religious person but I know that he is up there and I know he hears me. 

Image

One thought on ““May angels lead you in”.

  1. You made me cry. Grandpa’s are very special. At least to those of us who have great ones. My heart breaks for you. But know Grandparents truly love unconditionally . At least mine did, and it sounds like yours did too. My heart goes out to you… Thinking of you.. And as I say numerous times, you can buy a car but you can’t buy or replace a person…

Leave a Reply

