2012. A pretty good year.

2012 has been quite a year. Probably the most productive and rewarding year I’ve had in a long time! At the beginning of the year, I finally finished grade 12 and got my high school diploma. In July of this year, I got my first ever job offer, hopefully the first of many. I got a lot closer with some really amazing friends. I attended my second Moebius Syndrome Conference in July of this year which was amazing and I met a lot of amazing new friends. I went on the vacation of a lifetime. Actually that happened twice this year. The first was a cruise to Hawaii to celebrate my completion of high school. That was an amazing trip, and Hawaii is the most beautiful, serene place. Definitely need to go back sometime very soon! The second trip was a cruise to Alaska with my mom. Alaska is definitely like no other place on earth. It is the one place that is, for the most part, untouched by man. It is a beautiful place full of peace and wonder. The water is clear and blue, the animals roam free and the people are so laid back. I love Alaska and really believe that if you can get there, you should definitely go. It is a place like no other. Also met some really amazing, inspiring people on that trip. It’s something that I will never forget.

Another great thing that happened this year was starting this blog. Anyone who has ever blogged before knows that it is a really great outlet. I can get everything that I am feeling out in writing. It’s like a diary that everyone can read. The main goal of this blog is to raise awareness of Moebius and the things that we experience, but it is also a place to just write whatever is on my mind. And it is a huge benefit! I love writing and it is great practise for the field that I want to get into career wise which is Journalism. What else happened this year..? Hmm.. Well, today I passed my drivers test and got my drivers license! This is a big, big deal for me. It’s something that I just kind of assumed would never happen because I have Moebius. I just thought that I can’t possibly get my license. I can’t possibly drive because of my difference. I know that a lot of my friends with Moebius drive but I just thought it will never happen for me. But it did today. I am so, so happy! Driving gives you so much more independence and freedom. It’s quite overwhelming and frightening at first but I’ve been practising every day and I think that has really been a big benefit. I know that it’ll be tough driving alone at first because I’ve never done it but I know that eventually it will all become easier. The thing is, even if I don’t want to drive by myself, I know that I now can because I have my license. This will be a life changer, that’s for sure.

So anyway, 2012 has overall be a great year. Yes, there have been a few hardships along the way but overall it has been a really good year. My wish and goal is for 2013 to be the same. I want it to be an even bigger and better year than 2012 was. That will be hard to beat but I intend to accomplish a lot and get my life even more on track for the future.

To my Moebius friends.. and everyone else too: Never, ever give up! Even if you think that you won’t be able to do something, with perseverance and pursuit you can do anything that you set your mind to. You really can. In the words of Nickelback “It’s never too late to reach for the stars, regardless of who you are”. Yes, I did just quote Nickelback. They’re my favourite people ever. Them and Russell Brand. I wish I could hang out with them for a day, there would never be a dull moment that’s for sure.

Anyway, here’s to an amazing 2013! Live your dreams, guys, because you know that you can! Don’t ever give up!

Leave a Reply

