People are much too lax about what they post on the internet.

This post may make some people think I’m a paranoid freak. They may be offended. I’m sorry if that’s the case. I’m not a paranoid freak, I think it’s called being smart. Also, if you do it I’m not telling you not to. This blog, as with all my blogs, are my views only. You may not agree but I’m not asking you to. Just read what I have to say and if you agree with it, great. If not, that’s fine too. In the end, everyone is responsible only for their actions and what they do. 

So, I deleted my Instagram account tonight. I was going through the pictures and I though “what is the point of this?” It’s just people posting random pictures. Pictures of everything. For what purpose? Do they like the attention of someone liking or commenting on their pictures? I’m not trying to sound like a condescending jerk here, I’m literally curious. Yes, I had an account. Yes, I posted pictures. No, I do not see the point of it. I would never post a picture of myself on a public forum like that. 

Which brings me to the next part of my blog. I don’t understand why people post pictures of themselves on the internet. You know that people can copy and save pictures right? People can do anything with that information. They can make fake profiles of you. Identity theft? Your picture is on the internet forever as soon as you click post. 

Personal story time. If you think I’m being weird or that nothing like that will ever happen to you.. Well, here’s a reality check. In March of 2009 some ass (excuse the language. I could call them much, much worse) took pictures from my personal Facebook account and make a fake profile on another social media site. I’m not going into detail about what the profile said or anything. I’ll just say this: They were not very nice things, Not only were they not very nice, they were defamatory. The page got deleted after some of my friends reported it many times. It totally, 360 degree changed me and how I operate on the internet. My Facebook privacy settings are very strict. I had two lists of people who I trust who can see most of what I post. Pictures, most statuses, everything is restricted. Not my entire friends list can see what I post. I never post pictures of myself on other sites, ever. I ask people not to post pictures of me as well. I mean, you can call it whatever you want. You can call it paranoid. I really do not care. I call it being smart about who you distribute this information to. And until something like what happened to me happens to you, you won’t understand the hell that you go through after something like that. 

Just at least think about what I have said before you post things on the internet next time. Think about the consequences because once you post something, you can delete it but it will probably never be completely gone. 

Leave a Reply

