Something that I won’t soon forget.

I went into the hospital last week with absolutely unbearable pain (on a scale of 1-10 it was a 50). Turns out I have gallstones, and will be getting my gallbladder removed in the next month or so.

Anyway, I had the nicest ER doctor ever. He talked to me for a while and he was just super nice. He was pretty soft spoken. He talked to me for a while and then went to talk to my dad about what they were going to do. He talked to him for about 10-20 minutes. He came back and we were talking and he goes “I think I’ve heard of Moebius Syndrome but I’ve never seen anyone with it. You must be very special”. Then he went on and was like “I know that sometimes you must wish you weren’t though. I know you’ve had a lot of surgeries and inconveniences but don’t be afraid to speak up and tell us if the pain still remains”. I don’t know if I’ve ever had a doctor that was like that. He was amazing. I was actually really impressed.

But I don’t actually think of myself as special. Different.. maybe. But I’m no more special than anyone else, I don’t think. Special would mean that I’m somehow better than others. I don’t see that. I know that I have this rare neurological condition so maybe I’m diverse. That’s the word. But all of this doesn’t matter a huge amount.. I just want to spread awareness of Moebius so that we eventually won’t have to explain it to doctors. They’ll just know. And then, maybe, we won’t be seen as special or different.

One thought on “Something that I won’t soon forget.

  1. My grandmother use to say I was special, and she meant it the best possible way, but to me I hated that term. It somehow made me feel like I stood out in a crowd and was special/different! As a child I just wanted to be normal, just like everybody else.

    About 4 years ago I had my gallbladder removed. I was also having terrible….super terrible pain. After going into the ER and getting the scan that showed I was passing a stone they gave me some morphine. The doctor asked if I could go home till tomorrow when the surgery was scheduled or did I need to stay over night….I said “Mister, I have given birth to three babies all natural no drugs no epidural and the pain from this gall stone far exceeds that pain”, and He was like, “Oh, You definately need to stay”. Well, yeah, I sure do ’cause when this morphine wears off Im gonna be wanting more 🙂 The surgery went well and recovery was not bad at all. You will feel so much better. Will be thinking about you!

Leave a Reply

