Small Victories.

Sometimes it really is the smallest things in life that matter. For the past 4 days, I had been in the worst pain ever. I was taking one of the strongest painkillers out there, which can’t be good for my body. I still had the pain this morning but then this afternoon, I was watching T.V lying down and the pain just stopped. I can’t tell you what the relief was like. On a scale of 1-10 the pain was a 12. I always thought it was so cliche when people said that but I’ve never known it to be more true. Hopefully going back to work tomorrow, and I’m actually looking forward to it because of one simple reason: I can. Hopefully the pain stays away but I know eventually, my gallbladder will have to come out. It sucks but that is reality. And, as I went into work today to talk to my boss about probably being back tomorrow, one of my coworkers asked how I was, my boss said she hoped I was better, and one of my friends (also coworker) was having her lunch as I was leaving so I talked to her for a minute and she was glad that I was able to come back. I’m very happy that I work with such great people. It makes me want to go back to work.

I feel like having Moebius maybe prepared me for this 4 days of hell. I mean, I’ve been through many surgeries, a lot of pain both physical and mental. It has certainly prepared me for the surgery that I know looms ahead somewhere in the future.

As Dumbledore said in Harry Potter “Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.” This is how life goes. Finding joy in the little things. Such as being relatively pain free.

Leave a Reply

